‘The World’s Greatest Shave’

29 03 2011

Thomas (Tom) : ‘The World’s Greatest Shave’ Thomas (otherwise known as Tom) is quite an all-embracing year 9 student. Recently he has participated in ‘The World’s Greatest Shave’. I met up with Tom, asking him about this activity; why he had entered into it and this is what he said.

DJ: So firstly, I hear that recently you participated in an event to raise money for Leukaemia. What have you done, and how have you raised the money?

Tom: I have done ‘The World’s Greatest Shave’ for leukaemia. Basically I have to shave all the hair off my head, and get people to sponsor me. I raised the money by asking people at school and sport if they would sponsor me for a good cause. The cause – to help find a cure for leukaemia. I raised the money because I really have a heart for these sorts of problems, and I realised it was something I could do to help people less fortunate than me. Some people don’t even get to have hair during their treatment. Also, I thought, why not? It’ll be fun!

DJ: That’s great to hear, thanks. Now when you did this, did you consider other people’s opinions about what you were doing and what you would look like? Did you care what they would think?

Tom: Ha ha! Yes. A lot of people were telling me not to do it because they thought I would look horrible. Many girls said they liked my hair and many guys said that they would laugh really hard when they saw me with a shaved head. I didn’t care what they thought though, so it didn’t bother me. It will grow back, and as I said before, this is to help a needy cause, so who cares what others think.

 DJ: Wonderful. Well I can tell that you really have a heart for people less fortunate than you. So what do you want to do when you’re older? What’s your ideal career choice?

Tom: My career choice would be anything that could help the people around me. I would really like to do this because it is a double benefit. From this I mean that you get to help others, and it makes you feel good as well, it’s kind of like a ‘win win’.

DJ: Well thanks for chatting to me; I hope that you end up helping people and following your heart.

Tom: No problem! Anytime.

 I don’t know about you but I am inspired by listening to someone so keen to support others. Tom really is a great inspiration to us all.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

