Reality check

10 03 2011

 

The misty, cold wind pushes against me as I walk in the opposite direction to everyone else. For the first time in a while, I’ve had a moment to think to myself and contemplate life. There is a saying that goes, “Life happens when you’re busy making other plans’. Only now I understand that.

 I’m always been waiting:  waiting to finish school, waiting to get my first job and waiting to move out. What I should have realised is that while I wait for everything, life is passing me by.

 My feet drag behind me as I come to a halt. I’m exhausted. Sometimes I feel that I have an expectation to uphold.   I look back at all my friends, gathered around the bonfire, laughing and having a good time. I smile, and come to appreciate, to enjoy the small things in life. I feel I can now begin to make the most of everything.  Sometimes it’s good to be alone but I move slowly back to the warmth of the circle, satisfied.

Yasmin

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

