I’m on top of the world!

26 05 2010

The view of the summit is absolutely extraordinary. Hobart and the Derwent River is right below me. I feel like I’m on top of the world. The chilly tops absolutely freeze my spine but the drop to the bottom  blows my mind. I’ve never seen a lookout like this.

 This is the extraordinary Mount Wellington which is located outside Hobart. Up a long windy road is the summit of the mountain. I was lucky enough to experience it in my five day holiday in Hobart. A weather machine, carpark, lookout and an information centre are all the man made structures at the top.  Apart from that, the summit is almost untouched with amazing rock features and fascinating wildlife.

 From the lookout straight ahead is the city of Hobart and the river while to the left and right are the rolling hills surrounding this. Although Hobart is one of the best tourist attractions in Tasmania, it is not  heavily populated which was surprising.

The only problem with such a huge mountain though is that sometimes the view can be blocked by cloud as I found out five years earlier. This time, with no clouds and a wind temperature of  -1 degrees, it is clear and I can see for miles.

 It is an amazing experience. This mountain is definitely one of the best things in Hobart and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to visit this fascinating and beautiful place.

Peter

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

